Maple Spice Creme Brûlée

This is a creamy custard sweetened with maple syrup and a hint of cinnamon spice, topped with a crunchy caramelized sugar coating. You only need a few basic ingredients to put together this impressive dessert, and it is so easy to make. You are going to love it!

MAPLE SPICE CREME BRULEE. A creamy custard baked with a touch of cinnamon and sweetened with maple syrup, then topped with a crunchy caramelized sugar coating. Only 5 ingredients required to make this easy delicious dessert.Creme brûlée is my ultimate favorite dessert, and I share with you today, my version of this awesome treat made with a Canadian flare. I sweetened it with maple syrup, which gives it a nutty caramel flavor, and I added a little bit of cinnamon spice to heighten the custard’s warm aroma and taste.

MAPLE SPICE CREME BRULEE. A creamy custard baked with a touch of cinnamon and sweetened with maple syrup, then topped with a crunchy caramelized sugar coating. Only 5 ingredients required to make this easy delicious dessert.I love cracking into the candy shell of this dessert. The sound actually excites me even before I have my first taste of the smooth velvet cream. Then that sweet toffee coating melting in my mouth just takes this dessert over the top. This is why it’s my favorite.

MAPLE SPICE CREME BRULEE. A creamy custard baked with a touch of cinnamon and sweetened with maple syrup, then topped with a crunchy caramelized sugar coating. Only 5 ingredients required to make this easy delicious dessert.The first time I made creme brûlée, I was surprised by how easy it was to make. To me, it’s such a fancy little dessert that is pleasantly simple to make.

MAPLE SPICE CREME BRULEE. A creamy custard baked with a touch of cinnamon and sweetened with maple syrup, then topped with a crunchy caramelized sugar coating. Only 5 ingredients required to make this easy delicious dessert.I will be bringing this special dessert to a special celebration, the second half of the One Year Anniversary Party at The Novice Gardener. See you all there!

Maple Spice Creme Brûlée

  • Servings: 6
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients

2 cups whipping cream

1/2 cup maple syrup

2 large eggs

2 egg yolks

1 tbsp vanilla

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/4 cup granulated sugar

Instructions

1) Preheat oven to 325F. In a small saucepan, heat cream and maple syrup over medium heat until small bubbles begin to form around the edges, remove from heat.

2) In a large measuring cup, whisk eggs, egg yolks, vanilla and cinnamon. Slowly whisk in hot cream into the egg mixture until blended.

3) Divide into six 3/4 cup ramekins. Set the custards cups in a shallow pan and place in oven. Pour enough hot water into the pan to cover halfway up the sides of the ramekins.

4) Bake for about 30 minutes or until the edges are set but the centre is still wobbly. Remove from the water bath and cool on rack. Cover and chill for 3 hours or up to 2 days.

5) Just before serving, sprinkle a heaping teaspoon of sugar over each to evenly coat the surface. Then using a kitchen torch, slowly heat the sugar until it bubbles and browns. Place back in the fridge for 5 minutes for the surface to cool and harden. You can also use the broil feature of your oven to caramelize the sugar by placing the ramekins onto a baking sheet and broil as close as possible to the heat source until the sugar browns, about 30-60 seconds.

Recipe adapted from Foodland Ontario

You might also like:

Vanilla Bean Magic Cake

VANILLA BEAN MAGIC CAKE. One simple batter that bakes into 3 different delicious layers, a chewy dense base, a creamy custard centre and a fluffy sponge cake on top. It's truly magic!

White Chocolate Cheesecake

WHITE CHOCOLATE CHEESECAKE. A smooth creamy rich white chocolate cheesecake over a honey graham cracker hazelnut crust.

Comments

  1. Amazing Lily!!! One more for my list to try..
    I loooove creme brulee, it is definitely one of my favourite desserts! Once I had a creme brulee ice cream, which they would put the crust after you ordered. It was heaven!
    I have never tried doing it myself! I think I should as the recipe looks very easy! 😀

  2. Aaaaaah I do love creme brulee! but I don’t have a kitchen torch..:( Your look very tender and delicious, Lily! ❤

  3. This looks so good, Lily! YUMMY!

  4. Wow, this is creme brulee on a whole new level, Lily. Love the new flavors, makes it even better for the winter! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  5. What a fabulous variation on standard creme brûlée!!! I am trying this one for sure. BEAUTIFUL photos too!! (How can you remind me of my failed “magic cake” though? I need to try that one again!!) 🙂

    • Thank you and thank you for the compliment on the photos. I’m always so critical of my own photography. And sorry to remind you about the magic cake, I have seen it done without the parchment paper, you can just simply butter the pan so I hope you give it another try, nice chatting with you, hugs:)

  6. What a pretty dessert. I’ve made creme brulee once and now your are getting me excited to try it again with your recipe. It looks delicious!

  7. Oh my, my mouth is watering! I love creme brulee but I’ve never made it before, I finally got a cook’s blow torch for Christmas so I’m gonna have to christen it with some creme brulee soon I think. I love the maple syrup in this one!

  8. This sounds and looks just gorgeous. I am always finding and bookmarking recipes for my ramekins that I purchased a few months ago, and since I adore creme brulee, this will certainly be gracing my table sometime in the not too distant. Just gorgeous! 🙂

  9. Lily, I had creme brulee for dessert today, after lunch with a friend! Gorgeous presentation, as always! Yum!

  10. I’m so in awe of you for making creme brulee Lily- I had no idea you could give it different flavors, maple spice sounds absolutely wonderful. A perfectly impressive dessert to celebrate with this week at the Anniversary party 🙂

  11. Lily, you are just such a talented cook – genius to use Maple Syrup and take it even further with cinnamon! Beautiful photos and styling too – thank you so much for sharing this with us at Fiesta Friday – happy weekend to you : )

  12. I always though creme brulee was beyond the scope of my abilities…thanks to you, I now have an “I think I can” attitude! Thank you, Lily. 🙂 I’m thinking I’ll absolutely love the maple and cinnamon flavors you offer in the recipe…delicious! Thanks for bringing this fabulous dessert to celebrate the Fiesta Friday anniversary party!

  13. This looks great! I do love creme brulee now and again and this sounds like a tasty variation. Happy Fiesta Friday celebration!

  14. You just killing me with these desserts! Looks great:)

  15. This looks amazing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

