Easy Black Forest Cake

A light and fluffy chocolate cake filled with a tangy whipped cream filling and juicy black cherries, topped with more whipped cream and chocolate sprinkles. It’s a quick and easy version of the traditional Black Forest Cake.

Easy Black Forest Cake Recipe (using cake mix). Only 4 ingredients. Delicious, moist, rich and flavorful. I have made this many time over the years and it is always a hit!

I have made this cake so many times over the years for birthdays and holiday get-together. It’s my go-to cake recipe when I am short on time, but need a delicious dessert that is sure to impress.

Easy Black Forest Cake Recipe (using cake mix). Only 4 ingredients. Delicious, moist, rich and flavorful. I have made this many time over the years and it is always a hit!

What I love about this recipe is that it is so easy to make. Basically, all you need is one chocolate cake mix, one can of pitted cherries, one package of cream cheese, and one carton of whipping cream, so just 4 basic grocery items. You simply bake the cake as instructed, make the whipped cream filling, open the can of cherries, and assemble. It doesn’t get any easier than that. The result is a moist chocolatey cake with a rich, creamy filling and juicy black cherries.

Easy Black Forest Cake Recipe (using cake mix). Only 4 ingredients. Delicious, moist, rich and flavorful. I have made this many time over the years and it is always a hit!

For this recipe, I used a whipped cream and cream cheese filling. I like the tangy flavor the cream cheese adds to the whipped cream; it makes it sturdier too. But if you prefer, you could also use just a simple whipped cream.

Easy Black Forest Cake Recipe (using cake mix). Only 4 ingredients. Delicious, moist, rich and flavorful. I have made this many time over the years and it is always a hit!

Since I have little ones, I just brush the cake with some of the reserved cherry juice from the can. If you are making this cake for adults only, I highly suggest soaking the cake with a little bit of Kirsch. It will give the cake a hint of sweet cherry almond liquor flavor and a boozy kick!

Easy Black Forest Cake

Ingredients

1 pkg of chocolate cake mix (I used devils food chocolate)

1 can of pitted black cherries (drained well, reserving 1/3 cup of juice)

1-250 gram pkg of cream cheese

1-473ml cartoon of whipping cream

1/2 cup sugar

1 & 1/2 tsp vanilla

1/3 cup of Kirsch liquor (optional)

chocolate sprinkles or curls (optional)

Instruction

1) Bake cake as instructed for two 8 inch or 9 inch rounds. Let cool completely.

2) Using an electric mixer, blend the cream cheese, sugar and vanilla until smooth. Slowly add half the whipping cream and whip for a minute or so until it just starts to thicken. Add the rest of the whipping cream and continue to whip until stiff peaks form.

3) Brush the cakes with the reserved cherry juice or Kirsch liquor. Spread about half the whipped cream on one of the cakes. Spoon the cherries on top. Layer the second cake on and top with the remaining whipped cream. Decorate with chocolate sprinkle or curls if desired.

Recipe by Little Sweet Baker

You might also like:

Dark Chocolate Cupcakes with White Chocolate Buttercream

DARK CHOCOLATE CUPCAKES WITH WHITE CHOCOLATE BUTTERCREAM. A light and fluffy, bold dark chocolate cupcake with a creamy luscious white chocolate buttercream.

Chocolate Birthday Cake

CHOCOLATE BIRTHDAY CAKE. A decadent 3-layer chocolate cake surrounded with the most luxurious rich chocolate frosting. Perfect for any occasion.

Cherry Chocolate Chip Muffins

CHERRY CHOCOLATE CHIP MUFFINS Fresh juicy cherries and mini chocolate chips in a soft, fluffy and buttery muffin. These delicious muffins are made with only 4 tbsp of butter and 1/2 cup of sugar.

Comments

  1. Lily, your cake is beautiful! 🙂

  2. What a beautiful cake! Merry Christmas!

  3. Hi Lily! Who does not like an easy cake correct? Especially one that looks as if you have been slogging over it for hours! Your recipe reminded me of how I used to make black forest cake too several years ago in a similar way but using kirsch since we didnt have kids at that time. I like your idea of adding creamcheese with the whipped cream. I am going to have to try your version soon now! Happy Fiesta Friday – thanks for bringing this lovely cake to the party! 🙂

  4. Black Forest Cake is one of my favourites and I have never ever attempted to make it because it seems so complicated But even I think I could try your recipe. Chocolate, cherries and cream are a match made in heaven! Thanks for sharing this… I will definitely be trying it in the new year!

  5. Black Forest is one of my all time favourite cakes! And I love how easy this one is, yumm!

  6. I love the addition of cream cheese in the filling, Lily! What a relief to see that you, Baker Extraordinare, will go with the ease of a boxed mx. 🙂 However, you’re piping skills still leave me envious! Beautiful and delicious cake!

  7. Hi Lily – I love Black Forest Gateau so this really appeals to me! My little one is now 17 so I wouldn’t be holding back on the kirsch! Happy Holidays Lily!

  8. I love quick and delicious cake, Lily. All your bakes goodies impress me all the time. Thanks for sharing this at FF #47. I hope you enjoy your weekend. Happy FF. ❤

  9. Wow, so beautiful, I love the addition of liquor to your already decadent cake 🙂

Leave a Reply

