Persimmon Pudding Cake

A dense, moist, and chewy spiced pudding cake made from the delicious persimmon fruit.

PERSIMMON PUDDING CAKE. A moist and chewy spiced pudding cake made from the delicious persimmon fruit. A perfect fall and winter dessert.Have you ever made something for the first time and it turned out better than expected? Well, that’s exactly what happened to me with this recipe and it became an instant favorite. This pudding cake is super moist and chewy, similar to an English toffee pudding cake. There are only 4 tablespoons of butter in this 13 x 9 inch cake, yet it’s rich and dense like a brownie. The persimmon fruit is a very mild tasting fruit, especially when it’s baked, so I added some cinnamon and brown sugar to make it more flavorful. I’ve already bought another case of fruit so I can make the cake again as soon as possible, and it’s been such a hit, my family has also requested it for our Christmas dinner.

PERSIMMON PUDDING CAKE. A moist and chewy spiced pudding cake made from the delicious persimmon fruit. A perfect fall and winter dessert.The persimmon is a fall season fruit. I used the Hachiya type vs the Fuyu kind for this particular recipe. The Hachiya is the larger of the two and has a softer pulp texture when fully ripe. But, you have to be patient with this fruit as it can only be eaten when it’s completely ripe and soft all around. Make sure it’s soft around the stem area as well, as that tends to be the last part to ripen. If it’s not completely ripe, the fruit will have a very unpleasant, chalky, and astringent taste. Once ready to be eaten, the pulp will be soft and watery, almost like applesauce. The taste will be very sweet and mild in flavor, similar to pumpkin.

PERSIMMON PUDDING CAKE. A moist and chewy spiced pudding cake made from the delicious persimmon fruit. A perfect fall and winter dessert.You have to enjoy this fruit fresh if you are not familiar with it. That’s my favourite way to eat and really experience this exotic fruit. Simply take off the stem, break it in half and scoop out the soft and deliciously sweet flesh with a spoon. There will be clear seed casings in the fruit which are edible, but if there are hard black seeds formed, they should be removed before eating.

PERSIMMON PUDDING CAKE. A moist and chewy spiced pudding cake made from the delicious persimmon fruit. A perfect fall and winter dessert.This pudding cake is a perfect fall and/or winter dessert. There is just something about the scent of cinnamon and brown sugar in the house that brings me a warm, cozy, and comforting feeling. As I get ready for the holiday season, I will be enjoying this dessert with friends and family and I hope you do too.

PERSIMMON PUDDING CAKE. A moist and chewy spiced pudding cake made from the delicious persimmon fruit. A perfect fall and winter dessert.

Happy Fiesta Friday #43  and see you at The Novice Gardener for another great party!

Persimmon Pudding Cake

  • Servings: 16
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients

2 cups hachiya persimmon pulp (about 3 large or 4 medium fruits)

4 tbsp melted unsalted butter

2 large eggs

1 cup white sugar

1 cup lightly packed brown sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 tbsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp ground cinnamon

1 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

Instructions

1) Preheat oven to 350°F and grease a 13 x 9 inch glass baking pan.

2) Using a handheld blender or stand blender, pulse the persimmon pulp to break part the seed casings and measure out 2 cups. Do not over purée.

3) Sift flour, baking powder, salt and cinnamon into a large bowl. Set aside.

4) In a medium bowl, whisk together the fruit pulp, butter, eggs, sugars and vanilla. Slowly add to dry ingredients and mix until just combined. Gently fold in walnuts.

5) Spread onto prepared baking pan and bake for 45-55 minutes or until a toothpick inserted Into the center comes out clean. Enjoy with some vanilla ice cream or whipped cream.

Recipe by Little Sweet Baker.

You might also like:

Vanilla Bean Magic Cake

VANILLA BEAN MAGIC CAKE. One simple batter that bakes into 3 different delicious layers, a chewy dense base, a creamy custard centre and a fluffy sponge cake on top. It's truly magic!

Fruit Streusel Coffee Cake

FRUIT STREUSEL COFFEE CAKE. A tasty yogurt coffee cake, topped with sweet strawberry pie filling and a crunchy cinnamon brown sugar streusel.

Comments

  1. I adore persimmons, despite that here I eat them almost all year round, but In Russia they are sold usually during winter; and every time I eat it I think about cold winter))
    Lovely recipe, Lily! Have a great week!

  2. wow this sounds so delicious! YUM!

  3. Yummy! This looks so good!

  4. This looks like a perfect addition with, or even an alternative to, the pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving dinner, or other Autumn meals! I really like the way they look! Everything looks so elegant yet inviting!

  5. This looks so moist and yummm 😋

  6. I have never even thought of using persimmon in a cake. Sounds great!

  7. I baked with persimmon for the first time this autumn, I’m definitely going to do it more often (although mine took forever to ripen enough, it was like torture!), I’m going to have to try this one once I get my hands on some more. I’m definitely a persimmon convert (or kaki has my market called them)

  8. My favorite dessert at Fiesta Friday this week. Thanks

  9. I love the look of this, even though I’ve never even tried a persimmon!

  10. Lily, I have never tried persimmon. I will have to experiment! Thank you for describing the flavor. I know I will like it!

  11. I too have a persimmon cake which surprised me at how good it is (made also with garam masala so doubly surprised). I am ready however to try a new recipe. I’m sure yours will be excellent.

  12. Simply gorgeous! Just love persimmons and photographing them! 😀

  13. Hi! I just bought a few persimmon at the supermarket! Looks good! This will be my first time trying them! 🙂

  14. This looks lovely. I have just been cooking with persimmon myself, I love it’s deliciously sweet, smooth flavor and this looks a nice way to try it.

  15. I love those happy accidents! And I also love persimmons but have never baked with them. What a great idea, Lily! Thanks for sharing at FF! 😀

  16. Looks wonderfully delicious Lily!! I have never had persimmon, I thought it was a tomato at first haha 🙂

  17. Yum Lily, this looks FANTASTIC!

  18. We’ve been enjoying persimmons this season and this cake looks heavenly!

    • Thanks Anjana, I think it has been a good season for persimmons because I have been seeing them on sale by the case every where. Thanks for visiting:)

Leave a Reply

