Cherry Chocolate Chip Muffins

A soft and fluffy muffin loaded with fresh, juicy cherries and mini chocolate chips.

CHERRY CHOCOLATE CHIP MUFFINS Fresh juicy cherries and mini chocolate chips in a soft, fluffy and buttery muffin. These delicious muffins are made with only 4 tbsp of butter and 1/2 cup of sugar.Cherries are in season right now and I always like to enjoy fruits when they are at their best. I bought a huge bag of these gorgeous, sweet, and juicy cherries on sale from my local grocery store. But, since I couldn’t eat them all, I decided to do some baking with them.

cherry chocolate chip muffins-3I was originally thinking of a double chocolate muffin, but I was concerned that the bold flavor of the cocoa powder would dominate the cherry flavor and I wanted the fresh cherries to be the star of the show. So, I decided to go with a light and delicate sour cream muffin. The soft, fluffy texture and rich flavor from the sour cream, mixed with some vanilla extract, complimented the delicious cherries nicely. I do love chocolate and cherries together, so I added some mini chocolate chips which paired the flavors nicely without having the chocolate flavor dominating. You can use regular size chips too, but I prefer the minis since they disperse more evenly throughout the batter and you get some chocolate in every bite.

cherry chocolate chip muffins-1This recipe is so rich and buttery tasting, you won’t believe that it only uses 4 tablespoons of butter and 1/2 cup of sugar. It’s all thanks to the low fat sour cream I use. This means you can love what you’re eating without feeling guilty, and trust me, you’re going to love these muffins. They are my new favorite. I ate 4 the first day, and between my husband and I, all 12 muffins were finished in 3 days. I love how light, moist, and airy these muffins are and my husband loved the combination of cherries and chocolate chips. I had to make another batch as soon as the last one was eaten (don’t judge me until you try these for yourself).

CHERRY CHOCOLATE CHIP MUFFINS Fresh juicy cherries and mini chocolate chips in a soft, fluffy and buttery muffin. These delicious muffins are made with only 4 tbsp of butter and 1/2 cup of sugar.This recipe is also super easy to make. There’s no mixer required, just 2 bowls, a whisk and a spatula, so clean up is a breeze. The muffins are baked at an initial high temperature of 425 degrees to create that nice high dome on top. Nothing beats a perfectly golden crispy muffin top, right?

CHERRY CHOCOLATE CHIP MUFFINS Fresh juicy cherries and mini chocolate chips in a soft, fluffy and buttery muffin. These delicious muffins are made with only 4 tbsp of butter and 1/2 cup of sugar.

CHERRY CHOCOLATE CHIP MUFFINS Fresh juicy cherries and mini chocolate chips in a soft, fluffy and buttery muffin. These delicious muffins are made with only 4 tbsp of butter and 1/2 cup of sugar.So, next time you’re at the grocery store, grab a bag of cherries and whip up a batch of these delicious muffins. You’re going to thank me when you take your first bite. :)

Cherry Chocolate Chip Muffins

  • Servings: 12
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 tbsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1 large egg

1/2 cup sugar

1/4 cup honey

4 tbsp melted unsalted butter

1 & 1/4 cups low-fat sour cream

2 tsp vanilla

1 cup fresh cherries, diced small (you can also use frozen)

1/2 cup mini chocolate chips

Instructions

1) Preheat oven to 425°F and spray a 12 cup muffin tray with a non-stick cooking spray.

2) In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder and salt, set aside.

3) In a large bowl, whisk together the egg, sugar and honey. Whisk in the melted butter, blend well. Then blend in the sour cream and vanilla.

4) Toss the cherries and chocolate chips in the dry ingredients. Slowly add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients. Gently fold together until JUST combined.

5) Divide the batter into the 12 muffin cups and bake at 425°F for 5 minutes, then turn the oven heat down to 350°F and bake for another 20 minutes or until golden around the edges. Enjoy warm.

Muffins are best enjoyed the day of, but can be stored in an airtight container at room temperature for up to 3 days.

Recipe adapted from Sally’s Baking Addiction

You might also like:

Blueberry Buttermilk Muffins

BLUEBERRY BUTTERMILK MUFFINS. A soft and moist muffin full of juicy blueberries and a scent of vanilla and cinnamon spice. This is a quick and easy go-to recipe for whenever you feel like homemade muffins.

Triple Chocolate Muffins

TRIPLE CHOCOLATE MUFFINS. Sour cream chocolate muffin with dark and white chocolate chips. Moist and full of chocolate-y flavors. Great for breakfast or as a snack.

Comments

  1. Do you think this could be done as a bread? And maybe with frozen cherries as it’s winter now and cherries aren’t in season 😦

    • Hi Ellen, you can certainly use frozen cherries, gently fold in the frozen cherries at the end and bake for a few more minutes. As for making this into a sweet bread, I’m not sure as I have never done so. Enjoy and happy holidays 🙂

  2. Packing my Suitcase says:

    Delicious! Your pictures are amazing 😀

  3. I’m in love with the pockets of cherry in the muffin batter. Mouthwatering!

  4. Lovely cherry muffins. I have cherries and I have chocolate chips. I will definitely try them:) thanks for sharing Lily.

  5. I’m so glad you used fresh cherries in these! My Mum loves cherries so when they are in season again you can bet I will be whipping up a batch of these for her! Thanks Lily 🙂

  6. This looks absolutely delicious! Yumm

  7. These look terrific! What a great combination! 🙂

  8. Lily, your Muffins are beautiful 🙂

  9. Wow Lily, these look simply stunning! And what beautiful photos!! You know, they remind me of one of my favorite desserts, black forest cake, it’s usually made with cherry jam and chocolate too! Thanks for brining this to the Fiesta, I am sure it was a hit! Hope you enjoyed it too! hugs, Sylvia

  10. huntfortheverybest says:

    i love chocolate and cherry. yum!

  11. These look brilliant Lily! Cherris and chocolate, lovely! And love your photos 🙂

  12. What a wonderful combo idea! I love those cherries and with the mini chocolate bits…. you can’t go wrong! I also use that 425 degree higher oven tip in the beginning to yield a higher muffin. It works! Great recipe! 🙂

    • Thanks, I learned that trick from the great Sally@Sally’s Baking Addiction. She’s awesome, one of my favorite blogs.

  13. These look so yummy, I love chocolate and cherry together, its one of my favourite combinations. Have a great weekend x

  14. They look delicious and so pretty!

  15. These look amazing! Love cherries and chocolate! 😀

  16. Oh wow, Lily! it doesn’t get any better than chocolate and cherries! Your muffins look divine! Great photos too! 😀

  17. Gorgeous! I wonder if I could try dried cherries? Maybe rehydrate them a bit?

  18. Chocolate and cherries sounds amazing! Thanks a lot Lily for bringing these muffins to FF, I’m happy to discover your blog!

  19. Lovely combination… cherries and chocolate! Thanks for sharing!

  20. They look so delicious! I love chocolate +cherries 🙂

  21. Thanks for posting, and Happy Fiesta Friday! I just got some cherries, so this’ll come in handy!

  22. oh they look so good! I’m with you on the chocolate/cherry combination. I made some cherry Nutella blondies recently and it’s such a great combination. I’ll be trying these muffins 🙂

  23. Wow!! cherries and chocolate? What’s not to love there 🙂

  24. What a brilliant idea! I just got a bunch of cherries from the farmers market ! I love cherry season! Thanks for bringing them to the party!

  25. Looks absolutely delicious! What great photos!! Perfect recipe for the holiday weekend. I wonder if you could sub Greek yogurt for the sour cream?

  26. One fact about me: I eat only fresh cherries. I don’t like the ones you put on top of sundae (what do you call that, btw?). And these muffins look so good with fresh cherries and did you say you will not feel guilty? Yummier. 😀 Happy FF23, Lily.

    PS: I haven’t been pinning lately; I will resume soon. 🙂

    • I’m not a big fan of maraschino cherries either, they are pretty, but so artificial tasting, these muffins are definitely lighter in calories than your average muffin, I can’t say they are healthy with the chocolate chips, but life is short you have to enjoy:)

  27. Mouth watering pics Lily:)

  28. It is such a pretty picture!

  29. I ❤ anything chocolate, yet this little guy looks delicious.

  30. Oh wow, these photos are so magazine worthy. And cherries and chocolate together are really a winner. Beautiful and delicious looking, thank you for bringing!

    • You’re welcome Sue and thank you so much for the compliment about my photos, that means a lot to me, the photography is the most challenging and rewarding part of running my blog.

  31. These look fantastic! I just moved, and was thinking about baking some cookies to take to the neighbors, but these look like a way better choice – YUM!

  32. This sounds and looks amazing!
    Happy Fiesta Friday!

  33. Cherries + Chocolate?! One of my favorite combinations! These sound fantastic!

  34. Beautiful pictures, these muffins look fantastic 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. […] Cherry Chocolate Chip muffins from this weeks Fiesta Friday, coincidence that we have a ton of cherries I just popped in the […]

  2. […] 97! Thanks to Lily, from Little Sweet Baker, I now have some fluffy white muffins chock full of little bits of cherries with chocolate chips! I […]

Leave a Reply

